Emerging Artists Touring Exhibit

2016-2017  Yo Soy…Je Suis…I Am…The World

Sixty-three works of art created by 45 Michigan artists are travelling the state.  Each year, VSA Michigan releases a Call for Entries for the Emerging Artists Touring Exhibit inviting children, youth and adults with disabilities to submit their art for the tour.  The 2016-2017 touring exhibit, entitled I Am…The World is traveling to galleries, libraries, conferences, festivals and other public places throughout Michigan from July 2016 through May 2017.

A committee of individuals from the field adjudicates the exhibit entries.  Artwork from across the state was submitted, and it was the task of the jurors to select the art to be represented in the exhibit.  Work chosen for inclusion in the exhibit is based on quality and an interest on the part of VSA Michigan to showcase a variety of media and artistic techniques.  I Am…The World was juried by Shirley Woodson Reed, retired director of Fine Arts for the Detroit Public Schools, Marian Stephens and Jim Jennings, members of the Michigan Chapter of the National Council of Artists, and Ralph Valdez, director of the Dearborn Community Arts Council and Padzieski Art Gallery; four individuals who have spent their careers contributing to the advancement of the arts and arts education in Michigan.